Rocket Launch (in Chester Green)

Rocket Launch 🚀

 

SpaceX Falcon 9 launched 22 Starlink satellites from California

“A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket lifted off from the West Coast with another batch of 22 Starlink satellites at 8:11 p.m. PST Thursday (11:11 p.m. EST / 0411 UTC).

The Starlink 7-15 mission roared away from Space Launch Complex 4E at Vandenberg Space Force Base in California on the first launch opportunity of the day, heading on a south-easterly trajectory, targeting a 184×178 mile (296×287 km) orbit, inclined at 53 degrees to the equator.”

Read more here

 

In celebration of the event, Dr Deb Outhwaite, Grace Hoskins, Benjy, Rose, Daniel and Simba joined BBC Radio Derby on Chester Green to launch bottle rockets into the ether!

Participants

DTSA CEO Dr Deb Outhwaite, Grace Hoskins, Secondary PGCE Programme Lead, University of Derby (originally a Chemistry teacher), Students, Benjy, 15 (into Science studying), Rose, 15 (planning on becoming an engineer and is one of 25 Rolls Royce pupil apprentices from over 300 applications. Women in STEM), both at Allestree Woodlands, Daniel, 9, and Simba, 6 (but 7 next week!), both interested in Science, both at Walter Evans Primary.

 

Listen to the rainy broadcast with BBC Radio Derby here!

The feature plays over 3 parts. Listen at:

  • 1 hour, 47 minutes
  • 2 hours, 18 minutes
  • 2 hours, 49 minutes

 

 

   

 

More Space Information…

Listen to Dr Kevin Fong’s podcast 13 Minutes To The Moon

Learn more about the historic lunar landing Moon landing by a private company: US firm Intuitive Machines makes Historic Touchdown

 

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.